Petite Inspirations

In the name of inspiration and all things interesting to me and hopefully you.

Dried Bay Leaves


I cut back the bay tree again. It’s not a huge tree. I’ve had it for at least three years now and kept it no bigger than three feet tall and growing in a pot. The smell reminds me of Christmas. My goal is to get this tree bigger for next fall so I can prune enough of the branches to create a wreath for the front door! Then when the leaves are dry, I can give them out again.

IMG_2674

I dried the leaves and gave them away to my family. These leaves are great for soups and stocks. Some of my family members mentioned they used it for Chicken Adobo and spaghetti.  I really never tried it on spaghetti. Maybe I’ll try that next time. My mom mentions that if you want to help with the ‘meaty’ smell of dishes, you can just add a leaf to the dish. I kinda like the ‘meaty’ smell when it’s cooking to tell you the truth.

My dad, what’s the word……..detests these leave. Every time he sees them or if anyone mentions them he goes on this rant of how they make your stool loose and how much he hates them. Come to find out, his dad, my grandpa used to use them a lot in his dishes and I think my dad accidentally ate a few of them, thinking they were vegetables. Make sure you don’t eat the leaf!!! They just impart a flavor and aroma to the dish.

IMG_2659

Flattening the bay leaves so that they store easier in plastic bags.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Dried Bay Leaves

  1. Dried herbs are best added while cooking to release the aromatics. Fresh herbs are best added after cooking. It takes less heat to release the fresh scents in herbs we enjoy in our food. The moral to your story, perhaps, “The spice of life is best in moderation.” In the Healing Garden, we think your Dad was really trying to tell you this. He was looking for the words, until you found them. – The Healing Garden gardener

  2. My bays are outside and grow very fast! I am never lacking for leaves!

Leave a Reply

