Petite Inspirations

In the name of inspiration and all things interesting to me and hopefully you.

Harvesting lemons and oranges & Cranberry Ginger Fizz Cocktail


Don’t you just love the smell of citrus?! It smells so clean and fresh. We harvested some oranges and lemons from the back yard and of course Honey had to get in some sun again. She really likes sun bathing.

photo(27)

photo(30)

Honey getting her sun for the day, and ‘helping’ me harvest some citrus.

It’s so awesome that the property we bought had some existing fruit trees already in the back yard! I can’t tell you how much I love them!!!! I decided to harvest the oranges and lemon. If you ‘re wondering when to harvest oranges, just try one. Let your taste buds tell you. You can also shake the tree, and whatever falls is most likely ripe. If you have a petite tree like mine (about 6 ft tall) you don’t have to worry about it getting bruised. For the harvesting lemons, just wait until they turn yellow, easy enough.

With all the lemons and oranges we harvested, I decided to make this wonderful libation, Cranberry Ginger Fizz Cocktail I found here. I’m not a fan of gin, but this drink changed my mind. It’s such a pretty and sweet drink that comes with a punch. I alter most of the recipes I find depending on the ingredients I have on hand or I try to make it simpler. 😉

Recently I tried to find cranberries at the store, but can’t seem to find any. So I’m going to try raspberries. I have a feeling they will taste just as good.

photo(20)

Makes 4 cocktails

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup fresh cranberries
  • 1 lemon, cut into wedges
  • 1/2 orange, cut into slices
  • 1 1/2 cups dry gin – I used Tangueray
  • 1 cup chilled Ginger Ale
  • Lemon wedges (optional)

Preparation

  1. Bring sugar and water to a boil in a medium saucepan, stir until sugar is dissolved.
  2. Add the cranberries and simmer for 2-3 minutes until they just begin to burst. Remove from heat and let cool in syrup.
  3. Place 2 Tablespoons drained cranberries and 6 Tablespoons cranberry syrup in a large pitcher; add the lemon wedges and orange slices.
  4. Using a muddler or wooden spoon, vigorously mash the fruit.
  5. Stir in gin and let steep for at least 5 minutes.
  6. Strain into a medium pitcher.
  7. Fill 4 glasses with crushed ice and 1/4 cup ginger ale.
  8. Fill a cocktail shaker with ice and then pour half the cranberry mixture into the shaker and shake vigorously for 10 seconds, strain liquid into two glasses. Repeat.
  9. Mound additional ice on top of each glass and garnish.

What plants are essential for your sinful libations?

SIGNATURE-SHEILA

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

